Miami-Dade Traffic Ticket: How to Handle a Traffic Ticket You Receive in Miami Dade County

Nearly a million traffic tickets were issued in Miami-Dade County last year. If you receive a traffic ticket in Miami Dade, you have three options: pay it, pay a reduced amount and choose traffic school, or fight it.

You must act fast. You have thirty days to decide. After thirty days, the court will assess a late fee if you want to pay it off or go to traffic school, and a reset fee if you want to fight it. Also, remember that after thirty days you are subject to a driver’s license suspension by the Florida DMV (now called DHSMV). After ninety days, to choose traffic school or fight the ticket, the ALJ must grant a motion, and will only grant your motion if you show good cause.

pay your ticket

You can pay your traffic ticket in person at any Miami-Dade County Clerk of Courts office.

If you want to pay your traffic ticket by mail you can send it to:

Miami Dade County Clerk of Court
P.O. Box 02-5450
Miami, Florida 33102-5450

If you want to pay your traffic fine by phone with a credit card, you can call:

(305) 275-1111

If you want to pay your traffic ticket online you can visit: []

Remember that paying your traffic ticket could earn points on your license, which could cause your insurance rates to increase and your driver’s license privileges to be suspended.

electrical school

If you do not have a commercial driver’s license and your traffic ticket is not: tag, registration, driver’s license, insurance, or a mandatory appearance traffic ticket, you can choose traffic school. You can choose traffic school and pay the reduced fine amount in the same way as above, and you will have 120 days to complete traffic school. If you choose to attend traffic school and fail to comply within 120 days of choosing, you will be subject to a license suspension, point assessment and additional fees.

fight it

If you want to fight a traffic ticket in Miami Dade, your best option is to hire a traffic ticket attorney. Traffic ticket attorneys have the legal knowledge to try to help you get your case dismissed, and most will guarantee you no points on your driver’s license or your money back. In Miami Dade County you can take advantage of some of the most competitive legal defense fees in the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *